Beware of the Account Executive Job Scam

By Nikki Freeman, published Sep 22, 2007
Published Content: 90  Total Views: 247,633  Favorited By: 31 CPs
Rating: 3.5 of 5
Have you ever gotten an e-mail that said something like...

"I recently saw your resume online and feel you would be ideal for an immediate opening as an Account Executive with our company."

When you click on the link to apply, it asks you to fill in all this specific information about yourself. Demographics. After you fill in your information (ahem...resume) and submit, they say that they'll get back to you soon after reviewing the resume.

I have been receiving these emails for over 5 years now, all from "Different" companies claiming that they recently saw my resume online and feel I would be PERFECT for the job.

My first year in college I would apply to each one of these emails and fill out my "application." It seemed legit to me, simple email, simple company, simple application. After all, if it was a scam, what are they getting out of it?

It came to me the other day! They're collecting your email, demographics, address, etc. and selling it as leads to other companies. So, basically, fill this crap out and receive even more spectacular gifts from the Spam fairy.

I'm not positive this is what's going on, in fact, I don't have a clue. All I know is the same kind of email comes to me, with the same kind of "offer" and I have never and I mean never gotten a response back.

This is a scam folks, take my word for it...You would be surprised how real they make it look too! For example, this is the most recent message I got:

http://www.eventsbychristie.com/careers/opportunities.cfm

Looks real, right? Ok, sure sucker, apply. You won't get a response, and if you do it will be a scam guaranteed.

I wanted to just let you guys know not to waste your time, not to waste the paper they'll use sending you junk mail and to be aware of this scam. I wish I had saved my emails throughout the years so I could send you details of every one, and tell you not to respond. But, I could only find a few emails like this that I hadn't deleted yet.

Here they are!

http://www.amateurpokertourusa.com

http://www.nationalhumanresources.com/job.cfm?E=15046&J=11093

Takeaways
  • Email Scams can waste a lot of time and money
  • Account Executive job offers are almost always a scam
Did You Know?
By signing yourself up for scams, you may be hurting the environment too! How? You will receive tons of spam direct mail and in turn waste tons of trees :(
Comments
Showing Comments 1 - 2 of 2
 
 
HI have gotten many email also regarding job opportunities and have noticed that in the link to eventsbychristy they spelled the website wrong. It should have been eventsbychristie with an ie at the end. My link didn't work so I decided to investigate the company and came up with this website. Seems hokey if the website address is wrong!

Posted on 10/26/2007 at 7:10:00 AM

 
http://www.dynamoo.com/diary/alec-defrawy-july-07.htm This website contains a list of domain names that fraudulent job offers are sent from. I came across it - and your page - as I was researching whether or not 'eventsbychristie' was legit or not.

Posted on 10/25/2007 at 2:10:00 PM

Type in Your Comments Below - (1000 characters left)
Your name:

Submit your own content on this or any topic. Get started »
Showing Comments 1 - 2 of 2
 
Most Commented On